PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Panel question

Matt Day
09-12-2011, 10:44 PM
We recently moved into a new house which was built in the 60's and has been updated over the years, the latest being within 5 years ago or so with a kitchen renovation and new master bath. For work I'm a Project Manager for a commerical construction so I'm used to looking for life safety issues, water issues, and punchlist items.

One of the areas I'm far from an expert at is electrical, and I need to get 220V down to my basement shop and would like to have a licensed electrician do a once over of our house's wiring. Attached are pictures of my electrical panel (100A), which as far as I can tell is completely full. I haven't done much research yet but my gut is telling me that a 100A panel for a 2500 SF house is pretty small.

On top of that, the lighting in the house is terrible. The lights upstairs that aren't plugged into an outlet is a hall light and the two bathrooms - none at all in the 4 bedrooms. So I plan to pop in lots of can lights from the attic space, and of course adding load to the panel.

I'm pretty sure I need at least a subpanel, if not a new main panel and use the current one as the subpanel to the new one. I plan to research a bit more on it, and get an electrician out here to look it over as well. I would do as much of the work as I can that I feel comfortable with. 207505207504

Could you guys/gals think about this issue and respond? Any suggestions? Thanks!

Dan Friedrichs
09-12-2011, 11:18 PM
I don't like seeing multiple different types/brands of breakers mixed together in one box, so that alone would be a compelling reason to do some major upgrading. Also, as you note, most houses this size are being built with 200A panels, today.