PDA

View Full Version : i am a rank rookie at finishing......

Charlie Fox
09-12-2011, 1:24 PM
.....and i am being foolish or brave by going into new waters without a clue but hey, thats just me. i have been lurking a few weeks and finally decided i should ask my question, even at risk of ridicule (no one really does that on the internet now, do they?) ;-)

my past experience at finishing has been just the old slap on of poly, or just enough BLO to make a picture frame look good and be done. this is a tad more serious though. bear with me as i try to present all the pertinent facts and history.

see photos below. these are laminated red oak, i had the lamination stage 90% finished when life got in the way and they were then neglected and left in a hot southeast texas attic for <GULP> 24 years. therefore, the wood is pretty much as dry as wood can get so i decided i needed some oil in the pores. hence my choice was a tung oil based finish topped with urethane, i want some build up for a nice gloss and protection from wear. obviously these are built to last, i figure future owners will refinish every 50 yrs or so. i have one that is 25 yrs old that i finished with wipe on poly only, no sanding or buffing or waxing, it has held up well but is mainly a decorative piece and is rarely ridden.

so with this i started with 2 coats of raw dark tung oil cut 50/50 with mineral spirits. i applied very heavy coats - just sopping it on, waited 30 minutes, then wiped off the excess. 10 hours between coats. i really really like this wipe on/off method because i feel like i am getting good penetration, and when i wipe off i can see that virtually all of the lint/dust comes off with it, verified by that when it is dry (or close to it) it may still feel oily of course but i feel no bumps from dust or lint. i follow up every 1/2 hour 3-5 hours and wipe off and seepage i find. at this stage i am very pleased with the looks.