PDA

View Full Version : Plane lapping and sole scratches

Dan Gill
02-23-2005, 8:55 PM
I'm lapping the sole of my flea market #5 Bailey. The large scratch in the picture is fairly deep. Is this going to affect the usability of this plane. It will take a LOT of lapping to get that out.

Also, two other questions: First, I notice that I get bright steel on the outside edges of the sole while the center is still dark. I take it this means that I need to continue lapping until the whole thing is bright, correct?

Second, I am using a 12 x 12 marble tile as my lapping base. This is shorter than the sole of my #5 plane. Will this cause a problem. I have been starting the stroke with only the front of the plane on the plate and continuing until only the end of the plane is on the plate.

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm new at this plane restoration.

Jim Dunn
02-23-2005, 10:36 PM
Dan the dark spot in the middle means it is still higher than the outside edges. You really should use a base that is longer than the sole length of the plane, IMHO. I had the good fortune to highjack a shelf from an old refridgerator. The tempered glass and length/width is just right for lapping. I also have an 18x18" granite plate I purchased from Grizzly that I could use.
Oh and that scratch, I don't think it will have an adverse effect on the plane's use. But you might listen to someone else with more experience than me on this issue.

Mark Singer
02-23-2005, 11:03 PM
As I read the photo, Jim is correct. The sole is still not flat. You can check it with a straight edge. The scratch is cosmetic. If it is really off, you can use a stationary belt sander with 220 grit and once it is close work by hand on glass or granite.

Zahid Naqvi
02-23-2005, 11:07 PM
Dan, I agree with Jim the lapping plate should be longer than the plane sole, helps in keeping things aligned. If you have a jointer a sheet of sandpaper stuck on it will work.