PDA

View Full Version : Which Plane Sould I Buy?

Harvey Pascoe
09-08-2011, 3:08 PM
I'm putting my LV LA jack up for sale, its just too big for my work and I need to replace it with something smaller. Another thing, I do not like the wide blade, just too hard to push in very hard wood. Since I'm no plane expert, I'm unsure about what I need. I would like to have one plane that fills these needs, although this may be wishful thinking.

I work small, narrow stock, rarely over 18"

I work mostly tropical hardwoods and lots of interlocking grain.

Smoothing machine planed wood, occasional leveling of stock before running thru planer.

I love the the precision of the LV blade adjuster and the side set screws.

I prefer adjustable throat, but is it necessary?

I'm agnostic standard vs. low angle, bevel up.

Being completely unfamiliar withe Lie Nielson planes, I've nothing else to compare to, nowhere to go to see first hand. The names of the planes eludes me as to their main purpose, jack, bench, smoother, etc. and the product descriptions aren't very helpful either.

James Owen
09-08-2011, 3:36 PM
Depending on your hand size....take a look at the Lie-Nielsen #3 or #4 with a 50˚ or a 55˚ frog. The high angle frog should work fine with the tropicals, and the mouth can be adjusted from extremely open to very, very tight. Another possibility is the LN LA BU smoothing plane; it will do essentially the same thing your LV BU jack plane does, only in a smaller package (it also has an adjustable mouth).

Chris Griggs
09-08-2011, 3:40 PM