PDA

View Full Version : Info on Delta 46-460 Midi-Lathe

Kris Langohr
09-06-2011, 10:30 PM
I am new to SMC and have been lurking the forums for a bit. I have picked up a bunch of valuable info and I must say you all do amazing work. I only hope I can do something that nice in about 10 years :)

I was hoping someone here sould help me with some information. I am planning to purchase a Delta 46-460 Midi Lathe in the next few weeks. Until then I am working on getting a stand for the new lathe built. In order to get the height for the stand right I need to figure out the distance from the base of the lathe to the center of spindle on the headstock. Unfortunately I can't find that piece of information anywhere on the net. Would anyone who has a 46-460 be willing to let me know what that measurement is? Thanks in advance.

Kris

Wayne Hendrix
09-07-2011, 12:54 AM
14 1/2" from the base to the center of the spindle. I am 5'8" tall and my stand is 27 1/2" high. That puts the center-line right at my elbow. I think that was the recommended height that I found when building my stand and I think it is also pretty close to the height of the factory available stand. Hope that helps and have fun with the lathe, I love mine.

Kris Langohr
09-07-2011, 1:18 AM
Thanks for the info Wayne. I appreciate it. I was a little concerned about the height of the factory stand. I am 6'3" plus another inch when I have my shoes on so the factory stand would probably put it about 7 inches too low for my ideal angle. Plus building my own stand will save me a hundred bucks. From what I have read that is $100 that won't stay in my pocket for very long was I get sucked into the vortex :)

Thanks,
Kris

John Keeton
09-07-2011, 7:22 AM
Kris, there are a bunch of threads on building a stand for the Delta - including these:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?132266-New-Home-for-the-Delta-revisited!/page2
(http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?132266-New-Home-for-the-Delta-revisited%21/page2)