PDA

View Full Version : Another Bowl Scraper Question

Noah Barfield
09-05-2011, 5:49 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to turning and have taken just a few classes at the local Woodcraft. I'm slowly putting together a collection of turning tools for making bowls. So far, I have a bedan and a 1/2 D-way bowl gouge. I'd like to get an extra heavy duty Sorby bowl scraper. However, I'm not sure which one to get. There are left hand ones, right hand ones (inboard / outboard) as well as round nose scrapers.

So, which one would you recommend? I've used a Sorby left hand scraper during class on the inside of the bowls I've made. Would a simple round nose scraper be more versatile (i.e. allow me to scrape both the inside and outside of the bowl)?

Thanks,

Noah

Jamie Donaldson
09-05-2011, 8:11 PM
Once you learn to use a bowl gouge you should never need a scraper for the outside of a bowl, as a side ground gouge will make a wonderful shear scraper, leaving a better surface than any scraper could ever hope to leave. Then as you further master the gouge, you will need the scraper less for the inside, meaning you will be doing less heavy sanding as well!

Bernie Weishapl
09-05-2011, 9:01 PM
Ditto what Jamie said. I bought a 1 1/2" round nose scraper and used it for a while. As Jamie said once you get the gouge down I don't use a scraper anymore as I use the gouge to shear scrape.

David E Keller
09-05-2011, 10:13 PM
I agree with Jamie and Bernie, but there are some woods that I prefer to scrape... Many of the Aussie burls are in that category for me. I never use a dedicated scraper on the outside of a form now, as I prefer to use a bowl gouge for that task. I've got the heavy duty Sorby round nose scraper, but if I had to do it over, I'd probably give some serious thought to one of Doug Thompson's heavy scrapers... I'd rather pay for the steel than the handle.

Paul Heely
09-06-2011, 6:56 AM