PDA

View Full Version : Signature on Your Work

Rich Aldrich
09-04-2011, 8:52 PM
Do you actually sign your name on your work or do you print your name? I am a mechanical engineer (please dont hold that against me), so I have been printing my name on my work because I generate a lot of drawings which are all printed. Does it matter if it is signed or if you print your name?

I started thinking about this when I was reading David D's post about his signature.

By the way I havent posted in a while because I was looking for and found a new job. The papermill where I worked for 23 1/2 years filed for Chapter 11 and shutdown August 5, costing the one horse town of Manistique it's horse and 150 jobs. The mill used recycled paper and Chinese competition for purchasing paper to recycle drove the mill out of business. It appears that one really cares if we loose environmentally friendly jobs or any jobs for that matter. There are efforts to get the mill up and running so maybe a buyer can be found. I hope for this community that a buyer is found and that the place can make money again.

I looked for a job for two weeks and now work for a contracting company in Escanaba, MI called Industrial Maintenance Services as a Senior Project Manager. I have a 135 mile round trip every day to work, but I was lucky to be able to stay in the Upper Pennisula of MI.

Richard Jones
09-04-2011, 9:21 PM
Rich,

Former project manager here, so I print my name as well.......:) I use a Dremel engraver, print my name, location, species, month/year. One in each quadrant on a bowl/HF/NE. I tried markers, ink, really expensive ink, etc., and they all ran, depending upon what type of finish I used. The ink probably wouldn't with my current finish, but I like the engraving.

Glad you were able to locate work, it's pretty dry for a lot of folks.