PDA

View Full Version : Wagner HVLP problem

Allen Burton
09-04-2011, 7:29 AM
I got my Wagner HVLP conversion sprayer out after several months to spray some lawn furniture. It was working well when I put it up after the last use, but now when I connect the air hose, air is continuously coming out of the tip. When I pull the trigger, paint comes out also, but the continuous flow of air is straining my small compressor. Any ideas on what could be wrong? When I last used the gun it does not seem like the air flowed continuously. I am also very new at spray guns but I did clean it up very well after the last uses.

Matt Meiser
09-04-2011, 9:19 AM
From what you are saying it sounds like the air is coming out of the tip? Is it possible that something is just loose, especially in the tip area?

Allen Burton
09-04-2011, 9:50 AM
Thanks Matt. The air is coming out of the tip where the paint comes out. I have tightened everything and can find nothing loose. There is a channel in the gun for the air to come out in the tip like it is, but in the past I do not remember it happening unless the trigger was pulled.

Don Selke
09-04-2011, 6:38 PM
Allen:
Give Gleem paint a call and they will help you with the problem, they are very nice people to deal with. I have both the Wagner conversion gun and the turbin gun. I buy all my parts from Gleem Paint. If you do a search for them, you will find them on the web.
Along with there telephone number. The packing that surrounds the needle valve may of dried out or is missing.

Good Luck:

dave toney
09-04-2011, 7:14 PM
I am not familiar with this spray gun, but it could be an overtightened packing nut at the air valve.
Dave

johnny means
09-04-2011, 8:21 PM