PDA

View Full Version : New Lathe Arrived Today!

Noah Barfield
09-04-2011, 12:34 AM
Hi all,

I'm a novice turner and am excited to learn more about wood turning. My new lathe arrived today, a Jet 1642-2. I spent the day putting it all together--here are a couple of pictures:

Noah

Jeff Hamilton Jr.
09-04-2011, 12:47 AM
That is gonna be fun Noah! Welcome to the vortex. I like your base too; is it "homemade?"

Marty Eargle
09-04-2011, 1:00 AM
Congrats on the new lathe! Prepare to change the word "novice" to "addict"...

Dig in deep, it's going to be a long ride! :)

Noah Barfield
09-04-2011, 1:18 AM
That is gonna be fun Noah! Welcome to the vortex. I like your base too; is it "homemade?"

Thanks guys! The base is homemade. I followed Dominc Greco's plans that he posted back in 2003. Someday I may have enough skill to build a ballast box like his too.

Noah

charlie knighton
09-04-2011, 3:03 AM
enjoy, check out some dust protection

Russell Neyman
09-04-2011, 4:31 AM
Thanks guys! The base is homemade. I followed Dominc Greco's plans that he posted back in 2003. Someday I may have enough skill to build a ballast box like his too.

Noah

Throw three or four two-by-fours between the lower braces and put 5-600 pounds worth of sandbags on it. You life will be simpler without that vibration. Welcome to the clan.

Faust M. Ruggiero
09-04-2011, 7:22 AM
Another tall guy. What did you eat when you were growing up. You will never know the joy of turning on tippi toes. Heck, I have to stand on a box to keep my scraper handle higher then the tool rest. Enjoy the new lathe and be safe. This group of turners will be a great help getting started.
faust

Keith E Byrd
09-04-2011, 7:27 AM
Congrats on the new lathe! You're gonna have some fun spinning through the vortex!

Michelle Rich
09-04-2011, 7:35 AM
you sure started out with a bang. a 1642 is a serious tool. Have fun & hope you post your journey

Paul Heely
09-04-2011, 7:45 AM