PDA

View Full Version : GF Salad Bowl Finish - application and process help?

Dmitriy Kumets
08-30-2011, 1:12 PM
Hi,
I got into turning about a month ago (read: complete newbie) and am now on my fourth bowl. These are functional bowls and while I realize that other finished would be just fine, the fam is a bit skittish so I'm starting to use the general finishes Salad Bowl Finish.
I've searched around the forum and other sites but couldn't find specifics on applying the salad bowl finish besides using a paper towel.
For polycrylic, I have sanded to 400 and applied on the lathe. Is the process the same?
If applying on lathe, what speed should I set during application? Should I even try to buff with a cloth?
Should I try to apply multiple coats on the same day? If so what process would you suggest and how much time between coats?
Thanks,
Dima

Betty Fox
08-30-2011, 1:36 PM
Dima,
I'd answer your questions but I'm still having trouble with the streaking myself. The can I use says to sand with steel wool for the first coat and to apply the other two coats with the lathe off. I've done that and I get a good finish except for the streaking. Sorry I can't help.
Betty

Sean Hughto
08-30-2011, 1:47 PM
I don't know about General's stuff, but I do lots of utility bowls and finish almost all of them with walnut oil and beeswax while still on the lathe. Works great and looks nice. Here's a recent few:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6090/6094497773_7e3f23278d_z.jpg

l to r: walnut, cherry and pecan. All in the 11 to 13" diameter and 5-6 inches high range.

Dmitriy Kumets
08-30-2011, 2:20 PM
Thank you both for your replies!
With the polycrylic, I could apply at around 600 rpm with a cloth, allow a little dry time and then dry/cure the finish with friction. Not sure if this is right either but...
With the oil finish it seems like it's 3 days of cure time no matter what. Is that right?

Sean Hughto
08-30-2011, 2:34 PM