PDA

View Full Version : is all A2 created equal? and how do you regrind?

David Wadstrup
08-29-2011, 9:31 AM
Hello,

I am relatively new to woodworking, and new to sharpening woodworking tools. Because of the kind of work that I've been doing over the past few months, I've only really been using handplanes. And, subsequently, my sharpening has been limited to their blades. Veritas' A2 blades to be specific. It was only last week that my chisel work has started to pick up, and hence, the need to sharpen them. What a difference! The sharpening of them is so much more butter-y, for lack of a better word. I'm able to bring up a burr almost effortlessly, and the sharpness of the blade is obvious. Why is this is not the case on my Veritas plane blades? It seems no matter how long I work, I never really bring up a burr. I can get them sharp, but never as unquestionably sharp as my chisels. Can anyone explain why this is so? I'm really curious.

I should tell you that my chisels are made by Blue Spruce, and are also A2. And that I use a Norton waterstone 1000/8000. According to Dave Jeske's website, his blades are tempered to 60 Rockwell, whereas the Veritas plane blades are 60-62. Is this the difference? Is it that the blades are just so much wider? I'm confused.

And, lastly, what system to you guys use to regrind your blades? I've looked at Tormeks, Baldor grinders, and bench top belt sanders. What is the best, easiest to use? Or can I forgo all of these very expensive options, and just use, say, a coarser ceramic stone? I've heard that they are very fast. How often would I need to regrind, after all? Once, twice a year???

Thanks for your help,

David

David Weaver
08-29-2011, 9:51 AM
* It might be the width that's causing you trouble - or just a bigger bevel - narrower is always easier to raise a wire edge, and easier to flatten