PDA

View Full Version : Irene downs large walnut tree

Drew A. Dunn
08-29-2011, 8:50 AM
My father-in-law had a large walnut tree knocked down in recent hurricane. He asked me if I wanted any of it for woodworking. The answer is obviously "yes" but as a relatively new woodworker I have no idea what to do with a large tree. Does anyone have an suggestions? Are there tree services that could come out and cut it up in to rough planks? Is this worth trying to do or would it be prohibitively expensive?

Thanks,

Drew

David Nelson1
08-29-2011, 9:06 AM
There is a couple of sawyers in your area. I'll see if I remember where I have them listed.

Jerome Hanby
08-29-2011, 9:07 AM
I'd look in your local CL maybe even post a "looking for" listing. Think one of the wood milling equipment companies maintains a directory of their customers that are available for jobs... You'll either need someplace to stack and sticker the finished lumber to dry or find someone that will kiln dry it for you.

Drew A. Dunn
08-29-2011, 9:16 AM
I'm in Maryland but my Father-in-law in Williamsburg, VA. Sorry, guess I left out a few details.

Thanks,

Drew

Drew A. Dunn
08-29-2011, 9:22 AM
I'd look in your local CL maybe even post a "looking for" listing. Think one of the wood milling equipment companies maintains a directory of their customers that are available for jobs... You'll either need someplace to stack and sticker the finished lumber to dry or find someone that will kiln dry it for you.

"CL"? Sorry, forum newbie...

Ted Calver
08-29-2011, 9:33 AM
"CL"? Sorry, forum newbie...
Craigs List. Incidentally, there is already one listing for downed Walnut in Williamsburg. I called. Three 36" diameter, 18' clear length trees. Seller wants$2,700 for all three.

David Nelson1
08-29-2011, 9:53 AM
I'm in Maryland but my Father-in-law in Williamsburg, VA. Sorry, guess I left out a few details.

Thanks,

Drew

That makes a difference :eek:

Carl Beckett
08-29-2011, 10:13 AM