PDA

View Full Version : MM16 Minimax bandsaw

Mike Holbrook
02-22-2005, 10:26 AM
I am starting the search for a bandsaw that I hope to buy this year. I have an old 10 1/2 Inch Inca but it only takes up to 1/2 inch blades. I am on 12 acres with lots of hardwoods, some of which are yearning to acquire a different form and join me indoors. I am thinking about acquiring an Alaskan Mill which I am hoping will allow me to use my chain saw to get something in the neighbor hood of 4-6 feet that I can deal with on a bandsaw.

The Minmax MM16 looks about right to me, but I am just learning. Is my plan feasible with this gear?

Jim Becker
02-22-2005, 11:37 AM
Both the Alaskan mill and working logs on a bandsaw represent "real work"!!! A better solution for the woodlot is likely to be having a sawyer with a portable mill come in to make things into boards. You can then air dry the lumber properly (finishing in a kiln if you prefer) without major back-breaking labor.

The MM16 is a wonderful machine...I love mine, but would not consider using it to make boards under normal circumstances; not because the saw will not cut it as it will, but because handling the logs is difficult to do both physically and safely.

lou sansone
02-22-2005, 12:13 PM