PDA

View Full Version : Plane acquisition-quest-lust-addiction enabling

Ashwini Kaul
08-24-2011, 10:34 AM
Hey Folks,
I have over the last year or so, acquired a decent collection of chisels and have been learning/enjoying using them.
I am having a hankering for some modern planes.
Here's what I have currently:
- MF - Junior Jack - ok condition.
- Veritas BU #7 jointer.
- Veritas medium shoulder plane
- LN brass block plane

I am getting a hankering to add to this collection. I am thinking a Jack/Smoother from LN/LV is in order.
I am currently using mostly Maple, Ash, Oak, Cherry - from wood I have stockpiled. I hope to acquire some walnut and mahogany soon. I am still learning the ropes of this hobby. I am looking to you folks, who have much more experience than me - to recommend the next plane or 2. I dont plan on getting anything vintage at this point, till I know what I am doing or looking for. I cant afford a Marcou or a Brese (ar at least cant justify the price at this point in this hobby).

Thanks everyone!

Gordon Eyre
08-24-2011, 10:50 AM
I just bought the LN movable throat block plane. It is an exceptionally well built plane and works equally as well. It is nice to see end grain look polished with just a few swipes of the plane. A smoother would be great IMO and I love the looks and build of the one from LN.

Chris Griggs
08-24-2011, 11:33 AM
A smoother is a good next purchase. No 3, 4, 4 1/2 (or dare I say 5 1/4) as well as any of the BU smoothers from LN/LV will more than get the job done. Read up (http://www.popularwoodworking.com/tools/understanding_bench_planes) on the advantages and disadvantages of each, if possible see if you can get your hands on some, then make the best decision you can with the information at hand.

ENJOY!

Ashwini Kaul
08-24-2011, 12:05 PM