PDA

View Full Version : Everybody remembers their first time......

Roger Chandler
08-20-2011, 7:35 PM
Some things stick in our memory............especially the first time............

I have been turning for several years.............today is my first for one of these..............:D I had about 45 minutes I could devote to trying to learn how to do a pen this evening.........it only took about 20. ;)

My first pen.......made from a cut off from the Stonewall Jackson Prayer Tree......350 +/- year old white oak.

Was hoping I could do it right............several coats of Antique oil, Mylands friction polish, and the Renwax.

205641 Forgive the photo..........was not going to take time to set up photo booth for this. Let me know what you think for a first one..........thanks!

Rick Markham
08-20-2011, 7:57 PM
That's a nice looking first Roger! Very cool... hopefully one day I will get to make a first pen too.

Billy Tallant
08-20-2011, 8:15 PM
Nice looking 1st pen Roger! Especially with the wood you got to use on it.

Dan Christensen
08-20-2011, 8:24 PM
Looking Good! I have a white oak pen in my pocket - I love that wood.

Dan

David Warkentin
08-20-2011, 8:36 PM
Hey looks good. I recommend for a nice high quality long lasting pen, that you turn some of that and put it on a jr. statesman.:)

Allan Ferguson
08-20-2011, 8:49 PM
Looks good to me.

Bernie Weishapl
08-20-2011, 10:38 PM
Great looking first pen Roger. Very well done.

Kathy Marshall
08-21-2011, 2:39 AM
Great 1st pen Roger! Now you'll be finding all kinds of scaps to turn into more!

Chris Hayes
08-21-2011, 7:00 AM
That's a fine looking pen Roger. Much like doing hollow forms, bowls, or whatever -- pen making gets to be quite addictive. There's as much art as science in these things as there is into anything else we do. However, the part that I seem to like best about pen making is when people actually pay me for the ones they like...if you're not careful, this can get profitable.

Steve Schlumpf