PDA

View Full Version : any experience with the craftsman # 22400 bandsaw?

John A. Callaway
08-17-2011, 11:28 AM
I have been considering a bandsaw purchase the past few days. I originally was just going to get the little 10" rikon from highland.... and be done with it. Use it to cut a few curves, the occasional taper, and some step thickness changes in cabinet or table legs.....I am a mostly neander woodworker....well I started digging into the grizzly site and was looking at the polar bear g0555 ....its a step up in price and a lot more saw....but the more I thought about it....the more I think I may not use it for all its worth.... I rarely purchase a 12 inch wide board that would need resawing.... and at 499.00 delivered for the saw, plus the cost of a riser block .... I think it will be a bit more saw than what I would really need....So , I kept digging....and I think the craftsman 12 inch model may fit the bill....3/4 horse motor, seven inch resaw capacity, and right now showing on sale for about $ 365.00 .... which seems to be somewhat reasonable..... So those of you with craftsman saws.... the ones that are mirror clones to their rikon equivalent.... are they durable, can the blade tension up properly, are you happy with them? I have read that I need to change out all the bearings to ABEC 7 bearings....all the reviews say this is the only part they skimped on.....and of course a better blade .... I have a small shop.... a one car garage that I share storage space with other belongings that won't fit anywhere else.... and I want a small footprint.... good bang for the buck and easy to use and maintain....

Michael Roland
08-17-2011, 12:19 PM