PDA

View Full Version : Router table questions....

Nathan Dekens
08-16-2011, 1:51 PM
So I was going through a old storage shed on the family property and found a new in box sears router table. I rigged it up and mounted my 2.25 hp ridgid to it so now I have a router table!.....but I have little experience with a router table:(

So today I had 1/4" ply template mounted to a 5/8 peace of cherry and I found the following issues:

I am getting a lot of burning on the cherry. Im spinning a 1/2" straight bit with a roller bearing at the collet end at about 17k rpm. Should I change my router speed up or down to reduce the burning?

Also I was trying to trim a little bit of the end grain with the router but ended up causing chip out near the end. Is there a method of preventing this when using a router on end grain?

I am unsure of wich way to push wood through the bit if when looking at the router table the bit is spinning counter clockwise should I approach the bit from right to left or left to right?

Thanks!

Jerome Hanby
08-16-2011, 2:22 PM
Reducing bit speed might help with the Cherry. No experience with that particular wood, but I find a steady push with no pauses helps with burning on other species.

Backup the cut with some scrap to avoid the tear out at the end. I tend to do that cross grain (is that the correct term?) sometimes just leaving the piece a little along and trimming it afterwards and end grain.

Routing the edge farthest from you with the router in front of you, run the material from the right to the left in almost all cases. Running the other way is called a climb cut and can jerk the materiel out of your hand. There are cases where I've seen the climb cut advocated, but it scares me so I avoid it.

glenn bradley
08-16-2011, 3:44 PM