PDA

View Full Version : Band saw set up Question - shimming wheel for co-planner alignment?

Mike Allen1010
08-15-2011, 4:13 PM
I've never used a bandsaw before but recently inherited a 14" model made in Taiwan with a 1 hp motor. I'm trying to set it up for resawing. I am a total power tool rookie and they're clearly things I'm supposed to know as just "common knowledge", that I clearly don't know.

I bought a copy of Mark Duginski's "the complete guide to bandsaw". He recommends using a straight edge to align the top and bottom wheel so they are parallel and in the same vertical plane. Just as he indicated in the book was likely, my Taiwanese made saw needs to have the bottom wheel "shimmed out" away from the frame. He indicated I could put washers behind the wheel to accomplish this.(BTW - it would've been helpful if the book said this locking nut has reversed threads - yes I really am that stupid!).

However the standard washers I got from a hardware store are too wide and as a consequence when I tighten the nut holding on the wheel the washers rub against the motor drive shaft housing. It looks like I need some kind of "narrow washer" that is only ~ 1/8"-3/16" difference between the inside diameter and the outside diameter. It seems to me a washer/spacer of this size would allow me to tighten the drive wheel directly against the shoulder of the bearing that rotates and avoid rubbing against the frame.

QUESTIONS:

1) Is there some kind of "special washer/spacer" I need for this? Where can I get some?

2) Finally, to completely align the bottom wheel with the top wheel I would need to shim the bottom wheel out approximately 1 cm from the frame. This would mean the locking nut would only be halfway threaded onto the shaft (which is keyed) -- is this okay? Seems kind of scary to me? Is there some kind of replacement narrower nut I need for this?