PDA

View Full Version : honing tools

lou sansone
02-20-2005, 4:59 PM
hi turners

this is my first post on the turner forum. I have been turning for several years, but still not very good compared to those english chaps! My question is about sharpening and honing turning tools. I will keep it simple ....

I usually grind to 30 degrees for my roughing gouge and then hone it on a hard felt wheel. Seems to work pretty good, but how about you folks. grind and hone? grind and don't hone, grind and use a slip stone.... looking for opinions
thanks
lou

mark hankey
02-20-2005, 5:41 PM
hi lou,

i am very new to turning, and i have just started out,
but with regards to honing, i can say that i have experience.
as i am a wood carver. once you have ground your tool to your angle,
you should always hone it to take out the minor imperfections,
and sharpen the tool, you say you have a felt wheel,what compound do you use? also after grinding try to smooth it off as much as possible.
just like sanding a piece of wood! where you start with a course grade and work down to smooth.this will reduce the amount of honing to be done!
i personally, start with grinding "if needed" then smooth the edge down to a fine grade, on a sanding wheel, then hone it with either a "diamond file" or a slip stone, also i finish it off with my buffing wheel wich i have fitted to my bench grinder, "jewellers rouge" or some similler compound,
and dont forget to hone the inside bevel.
then you will have the sharpest tools around!
i hope this helps you,

mark.

Jim Becker
02-20-2005, 6:10 PM
I pretty much never hone turning tools...they get sharpend so frequently that it would just be an extra step that doesn't provide enough "extra" to warrant, at least for me. The edges I get right off the grinder work wonderfullly. (Wolverine system) I have used a water stone or diamond honing stick to touch up an edge on tools that get sporatic use to save time, however.

Andy London
02-20-2005, 7:54 PM