PDA

View Full Version : Banding on wood

Avraham Monina
08-12-2011, 8:47 PM
Hello,
My name is Avi, Im fairly new to laser engraving, I own a Epilog Mini 24, 35W (used), Ive learned alot here from you guys, this place is great for people like me.
I did search online and on this site and I found threads about banding but they are all on plastic and tile, nothing on wood, my issue is Im trying to engrave photo I took, it is originally 240DPI, I engraved at 200,300,600 DPI and 600 seems to have the deep black engraving Im looking for, but how do I get rid of this banding??
Now I read that you are suppose to engrave at the same DPI as your photo, so I also tried to raise the DPI to 600 in photoshop, no luck, still banding, I tried printing straight from photoshop, and I tried Corel Draw, both have banding.

Anyone has an idea?

Avi

Dee Gallo
08-12-2011, 9:56 PM
Hi Avi, welcome to the Creek! The first question that comes to mind is: did you resize the photo after you placed it in CorelDraw? Banding can occur if you do that.

I also like to use 600 dpi, it seems to do the best job in my laser which is also a used 35w Epilog for jobs like this.

cheers, dee

Avraham Monina
08-12-2011, 10:09 PM
Thanks Dee,
I did try resizing and I also tried to print straight from photoshop with no resizing (which is the one i took the photo of)

Avi

Mike Null
08-13-2011, 6:32 AM
Avi

Welcome to SMC. There have been many threads on this topic so I suggest doing a search. I think you find a good bit of reading material.

Avraham Monina
08-13-2011, 9:17 AM
Mike