PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw set-up

Bob Yarbrough
02-20-2005, 10:42 AM
I'm new to the game and having trouble with my Delta 10in Contractors saw. I believe that I have the blade parallel to both the fence and miter slots. An employee at Rocklers showed me a way to check the alignment of the blade to slot using a combo. square that seems to work. I have also installed a zero clearance insert and aftermarket splitter. I am using th stock blade that came with the saw.

The problem is when I rip wood. Example, last night I was ripping a piece of 3/4 x 48" red oak. About half way through the piece the blade started to try and bind. Ended up leaving a few burn marks.

I am at a loss. Tried to find an ansewer in the Delta manuel. No luck. Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Bob

Ted Shrader
02-20-2005, 10:53 AM
Hi Bob -

Welcome to the Creek. A great place to hang out. Glad to have you!

It sounds like you have the saw aligned if you followed the instructions from the Rockler rep and used the same tooth on the saw blade when checking the alignment. If it is not perfect, it is probably pretty darn close.

Three suggestions for your problem: (1) Get rid of the factory blade and get a decent combo blade. Freud, Amana, etc. That way you will be able to get by without a separate rip and crosscut blade. (2) The wood may have some internal stresses in it. As you cut it, the wood moves and binds against the blade. The splitter will help, but won't completely cure the problem. In that case the splitter will help significantly in preventing kickback. (3) Double check the fence to be sure it is parallel with the blade. check it along a miter slot. The back of the fence can be heeled away from the blade slightly (0.01 ~ 0.02") to aid in long rips.

Welcome to the Creek,

Ted

Doug Shepard
02-20-2005, 10:54 AM