PDA

View Full Version : Air needle scalers.

Myk Rian
08-08-2011, 7:33 AM
HF has 2 models. One on sale for $45, the other for $20.
Has anyone used either model, and would like to comment?
http://www.harborfreight.com/air-tools/specialty-air-tools/air-needle-scaler-1108.html
http://www.harborfreight.com/air-tools/specialty-air-tools/compact-air-needle-scaler-96997.html

Brett Robson
08-08-2011, 9:00 AM
I have no experience with those specific models, but I spent plenty of time behind a needle gun while in the Navy.

They're effective providing you have sufficient volume of air to run them. Other than that, they are LOUD, messy and will pound millions of tiny dents into your metal in the process of hammering off the paint and/or rust.

Ken Deckelman
08-08-2011, 6:03 PM
I have the #1108 Model. It work's OK...I use it for cleaning weld spatter in inside corners. The needles are soft so get an extra set. It also uses quite a bit of air so make sure you have a decent compressor to power it.

Ron Kellison
08-08-2011, 7:08 PM
I have no experience with those specific models, but I spent plenty of time behind a needle gun while in the Navy.

They're effective providing you have sufficient volume of air to run them. Other than that, they are LOUD, messy and will pound millions of tiny dents into your metal in the process of hammering off the paint and/or rust.

LOUD doesn't quite describe how loud the guns were that Brett and I used in the NAVY. If the standard font used here is 10 points LOUD should be shown in 20-point! I worked in an area with lots of sophisticated (for the time) test equipment and we measured the dB level at 128 dB at 1 meter! We wore the standard issue ear protection but I'm convinced that the experience was one of the things that makes me continually turn to my wife and say "What did you say?"

Regards,

Ron

Joe Kaufman
08-08-2011, 11:56 PM