PDA

View Full Version : What are differences between Hard Maple and Soft Maple (say Red Leaf)?

Nick Sorenson
08-05-2011, 8:18 PM
I recently ordered some figured hard maple and when it arived I question if it is infact Sugar Maple. How do you tell if it's hard or soft? Even soft maple is pretty hard and they both look similarly in color and grain etc. Any clues that set them apart?

David Thompson 27577
08-06-2011, 11:12 AM
I agree that there is little, if any, visible difference between hard maple and soft maple. But I've been told that figured maple (fiddleback, tiger, quilted, blister) almost never grows in hard maple (sugar maple). Those figures are found in soft maple, and in bigleaf maple.

Of course, the answer I just gave is, quite possibly, worth exactly what you paid for it.

Peter Quinn
08-06-2011, 1:20 PM
Well, I'm no expert for sure. i don't know how the figure plays in, but the hard maple I see is generally more of an even creamy white color with fairly even grain patterns around the cathedrals. Soft maple tends to be just a bit lighter in weight, it generally has grey to tan mineral streaks on at least one face of many boards, and it is in fact a bit softer when you tap with a knuckle or press it with a fingernail. I have seen some soft maple that has no or little of the characteristic mineral streaking, but the grain is almost always more irregular and the color a bit less creamy white with a yellow to orange glow like the hard maple, and usually more tan with redish highlights. Now hows that for vague and general? It could be just my local area, or it could be just my main local supplier always buys from the same mill that gives me this impression. I have seen some pretty impressive curly figure in soft maple being sold not as figured but just in the regular lumber pile, never really see that kind of thing in the hard maple except in a very limited area of a very occasional board.

Gary Curtis
08-06-2011, 1:35 PM