PDA

View Full Version : Powermatic 90 or Jet 14" x 42" VS PRO (JWL-1442VSK)

Bob Ballenger
08-05-2011, 6:43 PM
I am just getting into woodturning. I have an opportunity to buy two very different lathes and would appreciate your input. The first is a Powermatic 90 Gold in very good condition. This machine is for sale by a member of the local woodturners group. The gentleman that owns it has recently aquired a third lathe from his brother a Powermatic 3250b. He doesn't need all 3 of them. The Powermatic 90 is 220 and has had its motor upgraded to a 2HP and its reversable. He would give me all of this brothers tools (top quality) along with the lathe for $1,200. I would need to buy a chuck. I have used this machine. The other lathe is a Jet 14"x42" VS PRO brand new which I can purchase for $1,150 delivered to my garage it has a 1 HP motor and is 110V. I would have probably have to pay someone to move the Powermatic to my garage. The Powermatic weighs about 600 lbs and the Jet about 350. So what do you think? Any advise would be appreciated.

Steve bellinger
08-05-2011, 8:32 PM
Bob in my mind there's only one way to go. Go gold:D Sounds like you will be getting one heck of a deal if you go with the powermatic. Not to say there's a thing wrong with the jet. I know a couple folks that have that lathe and they like it, but (again in MHO) you would never regreat going with the Powermatic.
Steve

Marty Eargle
08-05-2011, 8:34 PM
There are many preference factors that would need to be decided on for this decision I think. 90% of the time you want to go for the bigger, more powerful lathe simply because as your turning skills grow, you will get the inescapable urge to upgrade.