PDA

View Full Version : Editorial help needed on a woodworking article

Dan Mages
02-19-2005, 11:15 AM
Good morning everyone.

I was approached by the editor of Cruiser Quaterly, a PT Cruiser enthusiast magazine, to write an article on how to make a wood cargo shelf for the PT. She saw the others I have made and was quite impressed. The target audience for this article are PT owners with minimal woodworking skills. I am as good of a writer as I am a woodworker, so if you don't mind, please critique the woodworking instructions in my artlce. This is still an early draft, so I apologize for how rough it is.

Thanks!

Dan
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/DanMages/P1010163.jpg

Dan Mages
02-19-2005, 11:16 AM
Making your own wood shelf in a week

This article will go though the steps on how to create a wood shelf for your PT. A shelf requires a little wood working knowledge, but should be a fun challenge for any novice. The tools that you need for this project are a compound miter saw, jigsaw, sander, paint scraper, and a few clamps. So, you don’t have any power tools? That is not a problem. This project can be done with a miter box and backsaw, a coping saw, and hand sanding. A router is optional if you wish to shape the sides of the shelf.

The first step is to go shopping for wood at your local supply house. Most large wood suppliers will have a dizzying array of domestic and exotic woods. For the shelf, you want to stick to the wood that is labeled S4S, or surfaced on four sides. What is means is that the wood has been prepared on both sides and the top and bottom so that it is flat and square. Most shops will offer poplar, red oak, cherry and maple in their S4S section. If you find something else that you like, most shops will prepare wood for you for a nominal fee. For this shelf, I am going for a two-tone effect using cherry and maple.