PDA

View Full Version : Anybody NOT use a bench vise?

Jake Rothermel
08-03-2011, 12:07 PM
So, I finally have some space in my apartment to put together a small workbench after not having one for almost two years. I have a decent amount of salvaged lumber [3x5s of poplar pulled off MAJOR pallets from school] to make something small - probably a 24"x48" bench. I don't see myself building dressers and cabinets anytime soon in this place so this size fits the space I have for a 'shop' and will be decent enough for the projects I have in mind; and I figured down the road - when I can replace it with a larger bench [space permitting] in a larger home - it could become a really good sharpening station or assembly table or just a smaller bench. Waste not, want not, etc. I'm leaning towards Peter Follansbee's design; pegged joints and wedged stretchers since it'll likely have to be a break-down model of SOME kind. I'm a grad student on a severe budget and I don't see myself being able to afford a vise [front or leg or tail or end or what-have-you] anytime soon. And even if I can spend the money on one one for this bench, I'm not sure I'd want one or use one or if there are alternatives to a vise I'd be more interested in using or exploring first.

For instance, I'm curious to try using holdfasts and plane stops instead; maybe build a crotchet in place of a face vise. That kind of thing. I've read a lot over the past two years but have had nearly NO hands-on time so I've lots of IDEAS but no experiences on this concept [or a lot of others, come to think of it].

ANYWHO... My question is more like a poll. How many of you use bench vises or do NOT use bench vises or something inbetween? And, what do you primarily use your vises for?

Thanks for your time; I always learn a lot from you guys and this forum so I know I'll get a LOT of answers and they'll be honest. I appreciate that.

Jake

Jim Koepke
08-03-2011, 1:30 PM
Jake,