PDA

View Full Version : Bowled Over

John TenEyck
07-31-2011, 9:17 PM
My first posting in this forum. Let me preface this by saying I'm a long time woodworker and short time wood turner. I've made a few bowls but don't consider myself very knowledgeable or skillful in any aspect of it. What I do know I learned by reading and practicing. But I am persistent and critical, so most non-turners think the ones I have made are pretty nice. I'm not much for ornamental work, so the bowls I have turned are large enough to have some practical purpose, such as a salad bowl set.

About a month or so ago a friend was having his 60th birthday so I decided to make a bowl for him. I decided to make a segmented bowl because it was something new to me and I ended up with this. 203639

I didn't turn it as thin as I would have liked, but intentionally left it a little thick because I didn't want to take a chance on it exploding when it was almost done. Cowardice goes unrewarded, but my friend was happy and that was the main point. This bowl was about 11" dia. x 4-1/2" high.
A week ago I got an invite to the wedding of a former colleague, so what should I do for a gift - hmm, another bowl of course. But I wanted something more elegant so I decided to make a stave segmented one. I'd never made one of these before either, so that was another new challenge. Anyway, I came up with this:

This cherry/maple bowl is 13-1/4" dia. x 3-3/4" high. I cut the 12 staved segments with my CMS and was surprised that it went as easily as it did. The hardest part was figuring out how to cut the top and bottom off flat, which I finally decided to do with my radial arm saw and it went very smoothly. The rest was just patience. I turned this one to just over a 3/8" thick wall and it feels about right to me, light without feeling like it's fragile. The finish is Seal-A-Cell followed by Arm-R-Seal.