PDA

View Full Version : Yellow Cedar

Harlan Barnhart
07-31-2011, 5:51 PM
I found a source for reclaimed Yellow Alaskan Cedar from decommissioned water tanks. I've never worked with Yellow Cedar before. Has anyone used it? How does it compare with other cedars in terms of stiffness, workability ect...?

Jim Matthews
07-31-2011, 5:57 PM
If the coopering isn't too deep, you can readily plane out the "cup" for table tops.
If the belly of the boards is heavy (smaller, squat barrel) the material would make for an excellent chair back.

I love the stuff for Adirondack chairs.

What are the dimensions of the tank?

Pictures would be cool to view.

Andrew Hughes
07-31-2011, 6:19 PM
I really like yellow cedar.It can be hand planed unlike redcedar.Its pretty stable and little bit harder than red not as hard as port orford white .The stuff i get is from keith at easy creek lumber in oregon.

jerry theros
07-31-2011, 8:43 PM
interesting the wood came from a water tank, I've experienced freeze checking in work boats in alaska, so we would prefer to use it for deck beams and such, where wasn't exposed to weather?

Harlan Barnhart
07-31-2011, 10:54 PM
It looks to be two or three inches thick. It's hard to see from the picture but I think there are large sections that are knot-free. Is three dollars/bf too much?

Harlan Barnhart
07-31-2011, 11:13 PM
The same place has southern yellow pine and some spruce for $7.50 and $5.00 per bd ft. Deal or no Deal?

Chris Vandiver
08-01-2011, 1:07 AM