PDA

View Full Version : PhotoGrav or One touch laser photo

Bruce Dorworth
07-30-2011, 4:38 AM
Being a newbie, I was having trouble getting a photo to look decent on ANYTHING other than the computer screen. I downloaded the trial version of One Touch laser photo and was able to get a pretty decent picture on a piece of Alder and some black anodized aluminum.

So,then I figured the next step would be marble. I have always heard good things about pictures on marble, so I ordered two cases of 6x6 tiles from Laser Sketch. When they arrived I called and asked them what settings I should use with my 80 watt laser. The person that answered the phone suggested a speed of 75 and a power of 10. This didn't even scratch the surface. He said to raise the power 2% each test. I had to use 20% to get any results and they where not very good. I then proceeded to jump all over the place and totally ruin my 1st sacrificial piece of marble. I get a half way decent text engraving with the settings of 150 speed and a power of 22. Does anyone have a suggested setting for this material and a 80w laser?

Next question, is there that much difference between PhotoGrav and One touch laser photo? I am uploading a copy of the picture I am trying to engrave. I am looking for suggestion on the content(A memorial for a friends pet) and If someone with PhotoGrav would like to try and convert it I would like to try and cut it again. Ok, it seems the files is to large to upload.

Who has the best price on PhotoGrav?

Thanks,
Bruce

Frank Corker
07-30-2011, 6:52 AM