PDA

View Full Version : Mixing Tiles and Oak on an outdoor table

Brian Kent
07-29-2011, 1:17 PM
I am building an outdoor dining table out of white oak. There will be an 8" by 4" strip of ceramic tiles down the center, for both decoration and placing hot dishes. The white oak will probably have an oil finish that can be renewed each year.

Although the table will have protection from direct rain, I am looking for a way to mount the tiles that will not cause water to pool where it meets the oak. The tiles will be grouted all the way to the adjacent pieces of oak (3" wide by 4' long, one on each side of the tiles) but I know cracks can form over the years.

There might be solutions through use of some water-proof or draining base for the tiles. I have never done this before. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Brian Kent

Rod Sheridan
07-29-2011, 1:44 PM
Hi Brian, I have an outdoor table made of metal with tiles as the surface.

They solve the water collection issue by not having anything under the tiles.

Each tile sits loose in a perimeter frame.

You could do the same thing with the tiles a few mm proud of the wood frame, that way they would drain and the hot dishes wouldn't be on the wood.

I thinks with expansion and contraction due to humidity and temperature changes, anything with wood, tiles and grout will be a problem.

Regards, Rod.

Jerome Hanby
07-29-2011, 1:55 PM
Never really thought of them as tiles, but we have some tables built just like that. About 5 inch square flat rock panels that are held in a metal frame. maybe you could work out some "gasket" arrangement to buffer between the tiles and wood to give room for movement without leaving a big groove around the tile...

Brian Kent
07-29-2011, 3:01 PM
The loose-sitting tiles would work. I could form a lattice or crossbars for them to sit on, with each in a framed area. This could especially work since it is mainly condensation and spills and not rain that needs clearing.

Joe Angrisani
07-29-2011, 3:42 PM