PDA

View Full Version : 8 " GO490X Grizz jointer with spiral cutter head

bruce buren
07-25-2011, 6:06 PM
Just about to order the GO490X jointer from Grizz. This is the 8" jointer with the spiral cutter head on it. I figured with the summer sale and 10% off nows the time. What do you 490X owners think? Are you happy with this machine?? I have read a lot of the threads on here relating to the 490X, just need some reassurance before I pull the trigger!:D

Thanks

glenn bradley
07-25-2011, 6:23 PM
If you've read the threads then you know that nearly everyone likes them. I love mine and cringe every time someone buys a knifed jointer. That's just me as I bought mine to resolve problems working with figured woods. Compared to my knifed machine it is smoother, quieter and the surface is just great. I have had it since May of 2008 and the spiral head has pretty much paid for itself already; I am just beginning to suspect that I should turn the inserts. I used to sharpen my steel knives about 3 times a year so the difference in edge life is pretty significant.

Your machine will be the new generation so you will not have to do the "fixes" we of the older machines had to do. None of these were painful during assembly and my thanks go out to those who documented things like closing off the top of the open chute to improve dust collection (yours is made closed), elevating the belt guard and using link-belts to stop the "belt slap" problem (yours comes with machined pulleys and a serpentine belt). I would pull the trigger immediately, no buyer's remorse here. I was so impressed after a couple years of use that I bought the spiral head 15" planer awhile back. I actually get to use all of my figured walnut and birdseye maple now instead of making scrap boards due to tearout. . . . Do I sound happy?

david paul miller
07-25-2011, 6:25 PM
got mine 2 weeks ago, love it, no complaints,

Jim German
07-26-2011, 7:49 AM
Had mine for a year or so, very happy with it.

Ken Fitzgerald