PDA

View Full Version : Ancient Kauri Calabash

Patrick Doody
07-24-2011, 11:42 PM
Hey everybody, I haven't posted in a while but I've been turning(and chasing my 2 year old around). I turned this out over the weekend, it's not really finished yet, still needs some more oil maybe some shellac or maybe just ren wax, i haven't decided on that yet. I think maybe shellac would make it too shiny.

I attempted to turn a calabash here, that form seems to vary quite a bit from the examples I've seen online, this is my first attempt at that form, not sure if i nailed it or not... The wood I bought at woodcraft, It's supposed to be 30,000+ years old, there's a bit of curl in it. C&C welcome.

I'm sad that I missed the symposium, I was in Montana at the time attempting to do some trout fishing in the raging rivers.
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6018/5972914664_c675879631_z.jpghttp://farm7.static.flickr.com/6001/5972913556_78e889e556_z.jpg

Ken Fitzgerald
07-24-2011, 11:59 PM
Nice looking calabash or bowl.Gorgeous wood. I had the opportunity to see kauri trees in person in New Zealand. Huge ancient trees!

BTW.....I must have passed you in Montana as I was driving to Illinois on vacation about the time you were fishing those raging rivers. And yes....they are raging more this year in Montana, Wyoming,and Idaho than I can remember in the last 29 years.

Marty Eargle
07-25-2011, 12:19 AM
Very beautiful piece of wood and a great classic form to fit it. I'd buff it with a bit of wax, but other than that, leave the finish alone. I think the wood and the shape are both suited for a nice natural looking finish.

Glad you had to the opportunity to turn a piece like than, thanks for sharing!

charlie knighton
07-25-2011, 7:29 AM
very nice, that's pretty wood, thanks for sharing, yeah it was a good time in st paul, but fishing in montana if you live in st paul would be special too, did you catch anything?

Steve Schlumpf
07-25-2011, 8:14 AM