PDA

View Full Version : Plane Identification Help

Charles Wiggins
07-24-2011, 7:30 PM
I am brand new to bench planes and recently acquired this Bailey-style No 6 from another woodworker and I am trying to figure out what it is. It came without irons or the lever cap so I am wondering if Stanley parts will work.

The only markings on the body is "No 6" on the heel. The print is raised and the long underline is inset.
The sole is 17 11/16" long x 2 13/16" wide.

See next post for more info and pics.

Charles Wiggins
07-24-2011, 7:44 PM
The frog is ~2 1/4" wide and has a flat bottom and a Stanley style lateral adjuster. The lever cap screw is 2 9/32" on center from the base of the frog. Is has "6" and "A" stamped into the back. The body appears to have been designed to receive a different kind of frog but it was drilled and tapped further back to accommodate this one.

The footprint of the tote is somewhat smaller than the cast receiver, but it appears from the wear line on the receiver that it has been there from some time, if not original. The wood and finish of the knob and tote appears to match, although the tote shows more wear.

I would really appreciate any insights anyone might have.

Bill Houghton
07-24-2011, 8:07 PM
Even if it's not a Stanley...if you've got a Stanley frog on there, a Stanley iron and lever cap should fit. The 2-1/4" wide frog implies that it's an early No. 6 - the later ones are 2-3/8". I believe the later ones are easier to get, but a little digging around should yield you what you need.

My experience has been that most, though not all, of the Stanley bench plane clones will take Stanley parts - or Union, Millers Falls, etc.

Tom Hamilton
07-24-2011, 9:00 PM
Charles, it is definitely a Stanley/Bailey. It is not unusual for parts and pieces to be AWOL from a tool made in the first half of the last century.

http://www.supertool.com/stanleybg/stan0a.html