PDA

View Full Version : Respirators

Pat Carlson
07-24-2011, 12:22 PM
Being realtively new to woodworking; I have been advised to include a respirator as a standard working component. Are there any suggestions as to type of and what it should filter out? I am intending to work with many exotic woods and have noticed in the "Wood Book" that there seems to be various reactions associated with each species.
Thanks - Pat

Jim Burr
07-24-2011, 1:09 PM
Hey Pat,
I usually spend my time in the spinny section, but have spent years work on respirators; In real life I'm a Respiratory Therapist in the San Joaquin Valley.
For general all around protection, Airshield is a good bet. The filter is certified in UK, but not by OSHA for filtration. Triton is approved by the OSHA, but is bulky. Wearing a faceshield is mandatory, hence the reason I bring up those that incorporate both. If you'd like to split it up, MSA makes a good duel cartridge mask that will fit under a bubble type shield. Also consider an air scrubber...I use a Jet, but there are several good ones around. I am not paid by any company, just use, have used or tested the product.
I found out the hard way that mesquite and I don't get along unless it's in the BBQ pit!

David Hawxhurst
07-24-2011, 3:30 PM
airsheild and trition don't need to be fitted because there are powered and create a slight positive pressure. msa and 3m both make dual filter half face type respirators but provide no eye protection. the msa and 3m should be fitted to ensure that you get a proper seal and max protection. i went with the msa only because that is the type i use at work and knew what size i needed because we get fit check annually for all our respiratory protective devices.

Pat Carlson
07-24-2011, 5:35 PM
Hi Jim,

Appreciate the direction. Will follow-up.

Pat

Pat Carlson
07-24-2011, 5:37 PM
Thanks David,

It is apparent I need adequate protection. Will look into your suggestions also.

Pat

Josh Bowman
07-24-2011, 6:23 PM