PDA

View Full Version : Made new router table fence today, pictures inside

Duane Bledsoe
07-23-2011, 3:32 PM
I'm wanting to build a really nice router table sometime soon, but until then I made the one I have a little better. I got a cheap one for Christmas from Lowe's, but the plastic fence it came with is bowed in the middle as much as 1/8 inch out, and that made it (in my way of thinking) unusable. So I had a nice, straight, 1x6 pine board laying here from a project I did a while back (not just common stock, it came from the millwork department at Lowe's) and I used it to make a new fence for the cheap table. It came out pretty nice I think, for my first attempt (I'm a novice woodworker, just getting started).

I made the fence 5 1/2 inches tall, the full width of the board. It wasn't quite square to the table when put together so I shimmed where the upright attached to the base using a piece of paper folded over. Took 3 layers to make it straighten up. After I got it square, I tightened down the screws connecting the two pieces and then I made triangular pieces to reinforce it from behind, two of which I enclosed with a piece of MDF I had here to make a vacuum port for my shop vac.