PDA

View Full Version : Power and speed settings

Jim Reinhard
07-22-2011, 9:35 PM
I am new to this and trying to learn about settings for speed and power.

Will 50% power and 50% speed get the same results as 100% power and 100% speed.
also if dpi is dot per inch and ppi is pulse per inch .Then do you get different results changing them , such as 400 dpi 200ppi the same as 200dpi and 400ppi

Craig Matheny
07-22-2011, 9:59 PM
Jim welcome to the site you will find a ton of great people here. It would seem to reason that going from 50% pwr and sp to 100% power and speed would accomplish the same thing but being the speed has increased then the head has to move further to slow down and can take longer you just have to try different things on your unit. On my Epilog we use freq and DPI the higher the freq the faster the unit fires but the cooler the pulse if that is clear. With DPI you can take a circle and run it at 75 DPI and it will be jagged raise the DPI and it will smooth out just like a photo the hight the DPI the smoother the cut or engraving. With that said raising them to high will have an adverse affect just like if it is to low. There are some guys that have the same brand unit and they should jump in soon and really clear this up for you.

Again Welcome and Good Luck

Jim Reinhard
07-22-2011, 10:09 PM
Has anyone used the settings calculator at laserbits to get speeds and power setups?

Richard Rumancik
07-22-2011, 10:25 PM
The short answer is . . . .there isn't a short answer.

In an ideal world P50/S50 would be the same as P100/S100. For raster engraving, I think it would probably be a reasonable relationship.