PDA

View Full Version : Two new projects (pics)

Dan Gill
02-16-2005, 9:44 AM
Here are the medicine cabinet I just finished and got installed, and a doll shelf I made for my daughter at Christmas and just got around to photographing.

The medicine cabinet is soft maple that I purposely chose for the dark grain streaks. It's my first time to use my Keller jig for casework dovetails. The finish is three coats of semi-gloss Minwax poly, to match the rest of the bathroom cabinetry. The mirrors came from a cheap MDF cabinet I put in a few years ago. I just ran regular cope and stick for the doors, beveled the edges of some 1/8 inch hardboard with a sander, and used this to back the mirrors.

The doll shelf is painted pine, designed by my daughter (with a little help) to hold her big and little American Girl dolls.

Alan Tolchinsky
02-16-2005, 10:00 AM
Great job Dan. I like the different size doors and the wood is beautiful. I don't remember seeing soft maple looking that good. Dovetails look great too.

Jerry Olexa
02-16-2005, 10:07 AM
Nice job, Dan AND you're a good Dad!!

Doug Shepard
02-16-2005, 10:11 AM
Muey beuno! The different size doors is an interesting twist. Did you do that just because it looked pretty cool, or was there a physical reason behind that? Like maybe there's not enough room on the RH side to open a bigger door all the way? Or maybe a pic of the interior would make it clear. Just curious.

Dan Gill
02-16-2005, 10:37 AM
Muey beuno! The different size doors is an interesting twist. Did you do that just because it looked pretty cool, or was there a physical reason behind that? Like maybe there's not enough room on the RH side to open a bigger door all the way? Or maybe a pic of the interior would make it clear. Just curious.