PDA

View Full Version : New member in Illinois ***PICS***

Jeff Pilcher
02-15-2005, 11:34 PM
Hello everyone, I recently joined the forum and I am already enjoying the information available here.

I thought I would introduce myself before I start begging for answers and ideas.

I've been making sawdust for more than 20 years but I still consider myself a beginner (sometimes I make more sawdust than actual finished projects). I do my WW in my garage (when I can keep the wife’s car out of it and it’s nice enough to park the motorcycle outside) using a variety of power and hand tools. I started by buying a Shopsmith in 1983 and have slowly added more tools over time. Several years ago I made the leap and starting buying quality tools as my cheap tools began to die. My tool list includes the following:

Shopsmith Mark V, Model 500
(bandsaw, jointer, jig saw and belt sander attachments)
Portable belt sander
Random orbit sander
Power and cordless drills
Portable circular saw
Saber saw
Biscuit jointer
Power miter saw
Porter Cable router (fixed and plunge base)
Drill Doctor
Cheap dovetail jig
Misc hand planes
Dewalt 734 thickness planer (my most recent purchase)

I have built a variety of items including small tables, toy boxes, toys, book shelves, etc. Most of these projects were built to withstand the stress of rapidly growing children (strong and not too fancy). Eventually I will start building fancier projects (the last kid is finally in college).

My next several projects will be to build a new bed for my son and then I plan to build a variety of storage cabinets to better organize my shop, starting with a roller cabinet for misc. tool storage (I am a shade tree mechanic too). I plan to use the experience gained with these projects to raise my level of craftsmanship so I want to experiment with different methods of cabinet construction.

Here are a couple of pictures of my recent work (stereo cabinet and a loft for my daughter’s dorm room).