PDA

View Full Version : Classical guitars?

Zach England
07-11-2011, 12:27 PM
I don't see much discussion of classical guitars here. I think an attempt at building one may be in my not-too-distant future. I've been taking lessons for a few months now and want to get a little more playing proficiency and a little more study under my belt before I dive in. Is there anyone here who is involved in classical guitar, or is there another forum I should seek?

Shaun Mahood
07-11-2011, 12:49 PM
Zach, the luthiers forum over at Delcamp has tons of really, really good information. Pretty great for other classical guitar stuff as well - I started playing 2.5 years ago, it's really a lot of fun.

Building a classical guitar is what started me on wanting to start woodworking, although I think I have a long road before I get one finished (there are a lot of detours that I'm enjoying too).
I've picked up a few books and read a ton on the internet, but no practical experience. If you have any questions about where to look for beginner information feel free to bug me, I might be able to point you towards some good places to start looking. Of the books I've got, one is geared to handwork, one for machines with lots of jigs, and the other is somewhere in between.

Also, Luthiers Mercantile International (lmii.com) sells kits with all the wood you need, and you can get specific things serviced for you if you want. For a first guitar, I've been given the advice that it's not worth it to go with the really high grade wood. Apparently the grade is based on looks alone, and the acoustic properties are a crapshoot unless you inspect the wood yourself and know what you are looking for.

Unfortunately, any advice I can give you is secondhand and may not be completely correct.

Zach England
07-11-2011, 1:03 PM