PDA

View Full Version : Nantucket Basket Molds - newbie turner

james bell
07-08-2011, 10:39 AM
My wife wants me to make some Nantucket basket molds - basically looks like a straight bowl, minor taper to the bottom and a recessed base for the basket bottom.

Should be fairly simple, an easy bowl without hollowing out the bowl.

Questions - green wood or glue up some dried wood? And if a glue up is the answer (the one she has borrowed is glued up), any wood preference. I have a lot of ash, 8/4 genuine mahogany (end pieces I picked up for $.99 bf), cherry, etc.

I got a midi lathe and a 1/2" bowl gouge. Any suggestions on other gouges.

Any suggestions would be great. I did attend a bowl turning class at Woodcraft a couple of years ago, but as I never put it use, probably need to attend again!

Jim Silva
07-08-2011, 6:03 PM
Lets try this again (first response was eaten by the internet)

I'm a Nantucket Basketmaker by trade so I'll chime in here.
Use kiln dried wood and do a glue up. Green wood won't work for you as moulds are generally not hollow and green will warp and give you grief.

As for the type of wood, it really won't matter to the basket. I make economy moulds from pine and they are perfectly serviceable for many years. I do hardwood moulds if students/ customers request them and just about any hardwood will do. I typically use cherry or maple. The only wood I'd not recommend would be oak because it's so dense and miserable to turn when dry.

I use threaded brass barrel inserts in the bottom of the mould's recess to mount the base to. I typically use 8-32 or 1/4-20 bolts and all my bases have a 1/4" hole in their center. (You generally plug this hole with ivory or hardwood when the basket's finished.)