PDA

View Full Version : Air drying lumber - through the winter

David Peterson
07-06-2011, 1:29 PM
I just finished stacking a couple of loads of freshly cut ash and cherry to air dry in upstate New York. This is my first attempt at this. I read all the posts here on the subject, followed all the advice and now look forward to having a stock of good, dried lumber in the future.

Then it occurred to me: what happens in the winter to my lumber piles? They are in a fairly protected area, stickered, covered on top but the sides are all exposed. If this coming winter is anything like the last, they will be adrift in 3 to 4 feet of snow for months at a time. As the snow melts and freezes and melts again through the winter and spring, won't the wood absorb all that moisture? I wasn't planning on having to shovel out my driveway and my lumber piles too!

John TenEyck
07-06-2011, 3:42 PM