PDA

View Full Version : Powermatic 90 motor problem

Andrew Haynes
02-14-2005, 7:50 PM
Hello,
This is my first time posting on this site, I sure hope someone can help me.

I have a early powermatic 90 lathe, the motor mounts directly to the bed in a very tight area. The previous owner replaced the original solid mount 3 phase motor with a rubber mount 1 phase motor. I think he used this type of mount to get the capacitor to clear the bed. The problem is the rubber mount flexes at higher RPMs and causes a bad vibration. Who makes a replacement solid mount 1 phase 1 HP motor that will fit in this space? A model number and manufacture's name would be fantastic. Thanks

Norman Hitt
02-14-2005, 9:18 PM
Hello,
This is my first time posting on this site, I sure hope someone can help me.

I have a early powermatic 90 lathe, the motor mounts directly to the bed in a very tight area. The previous owner replaced the original solid mount 3 phase motor with a rubber mount 1 phase motor. I think he used this type of mount to get the capacitor to clear the bed. The problem is the rubber mount flexes at higher RPMs and causes a bad vibration. Who makes a replacement solid mount 1 phase 1 HP motor that will fit in this space? A model number and manufacture's name would be fantastic. Thanks

Not seeing your motor mount, I don't know if this would work, ......but..... would it be possible to remove the rubber mount and make metal or hardwood spacers in place of the rubber mounts and then tighten it down solid? Might save the price of a new motor.

Andrew Haynes
02-14-2005, 9:29 PM
Thanks for the idea, it's worth a shot

Ted Shrader
02-14-2005, 9:32 PM
Andrew -

Welcome to the Creek. A friendly place to hang out and exchange ideas. . . . And there are a lot of good ideas here. Good luck with your vibration problems.

Welcome,
Ted

Andrew Haynes
02-14-2005, 10:53 PM
Just pulled the variable speed drive pullies and the motor shaft is bent.
Guess I'll need a new motor after all.