PDA

View Full Version : Why so much kick-back?

Mike Vermeil
04-18-2003, 1:29 PM
After reading all the talk about kick-back in the earlier thread about TS power, and considering how much time is devoted to kick-back in all forms of woodworking publications & websites, I've got to ask, where does all the kick-back come from?

I've been working wood for about ten years now. I started with a little Craftsman direct drive saw, and moved up to a Unisaw a few years ago, and can honestly say that I have never, ever experienced kick-back when I didn't know that it was coming. I've only had it happen twice that I can remember, and both times I knew kick-back was a good possibility based on the stupid way I was using the saw, and was ready for it.

Believe me, I'm not bragging. I've had my share of work/hobby related injuries, including the time I ground my left index finger to the bone in a bench grinder fitted with a wire buffing wheel - not to mention the time a 390 Ford cylinder head fell over on my tennis shoe-covered toes.

I've always just been curious, is it really that common of a problem?

Eric Apple - Central IN
04-18-2003, 1:56 PM
"When expected" is key to me in your statement. Either by experience or education, you learn the "when expected" part. If you know to expect kickback cutting a certain way, you usually would avoid cutting that way and avoid the kickback. Other times you might use a featherboard or some sort of jig because you can recognize the situation might lead to a kickback. Kickback is common, it's happened twice to you in 10 years. Had you not been ready with your fingers and body out of the way, twice in 10 years may not seem insignificant.

I also ground off my fingernail to bone in a grinder. Ouch!! I guess thats more like a "grab and pull in" rather then kick. I now use nicked up pliers to hold small parts. Just a few days ago I saw someone else mention they did the same thing. A couple of threads on grinders might help someone.

Lee Schierer