PDA

View Full Version : A beginner from denmark!

Soren Danielsen
07-02-2011, 5:51 PM
Hello there!

Alright, to start off with I'll give you a little background info and then ask my questions.

Im a graphic design student from Denmark wanting to play around with a laser, so I can make things such as accessories (eg. necklaces) and art projects.

Previously I have used 3d printers to make necklaces (like this one (http://i.imgur.com/F5kde.jpg)), but I really want to make things out of wood (this video is exactly what i want (http://www.youtube.com/user/goodwoodchannel#p/a/u/2/CFnQqGRli_Q)), and I have a few ideas when it comes to the engraving features of laser cutters.

So first of all I need to know how to get started -

Since I live in denmark I'm guessing none of you would know where to find laser cutters here, and I have tried searching for schools offering night classes, but haven't been successful thus far.
So what would you do in my situation?

buying a 'hobby' sized laser cutter might be an option, but when I search ebay at ~$1000 models, they look very tiny and DIY-like. Anyone have good or bad experiences with these?

one of the things i want to make is something similar to this (http://i.imgur.com/YnZIT.jpg) - anyone know how much that would cost in a shop?

the last things i want to know:
is laser cutting software mac compatible?
are there alternatives to coreldraw?
how easy is it to convert things made in illustrator/photoshop to a printable coreldraw file?

thanks in advantage, and sorry for the newbie questions and wall of text.
if anyone have other good starter tips or tricks ill be happy to hear them!

kind regards
Søren from Denmark

Larry Bratton
07-02-2011, 6:48 PM
Soren:
First of all, welcome to our forum. Lots of information here.
Before I go into detail on your question, I need to know what is your budget is for purchasing a laser?