PDA

View Full Version : Help with a 'duty' board

Emma austin
06-29-2011, 12:23 AM
Hi everyone. As mentioned earlier, I am a firefighter, and have done a dew signage jobs for various stations. Just been asked by my station to come up with a duty board.
Basically all it is is a board with either slots or places for the names of the 4 guys on duty. We have four watches, red, green, blue, brown. Each watch has 4 people, who will each need their name on a colored tag of sorts.
Any good ideas? First thoughts were something like rowmark acrylic that is surface colour with another underneath. But then obviously quite costly as would only need a tiny amount of each colour, which I don't have.
If I jut used 3mm general purpose acrylic I could engrave that, but the names would only show up white. I do have lots of colours on hand though and it is cheap.
Also not sure how to make it, if I made it slots I would have to layer two boards on top of each other?
Love to bounce sone ideas :)
Thanks!

Carrol Fleming
06-29-2011, 2:06 AM
What about engraved acrylic colour filled with paint.
A board with two hooks (those L shaped screw in ones would work) for each name and then name tags with two holes in the top corners so that the tags can hook onto the board?

Regards
Carrol

Emma austin
06-29-2011, 2:55 AM
Hi Carrol. Thanks for the ideas. I have never done colour fill but feel this might be a good opportunity. So that way I would be able to engrave a say white piece of acrylic and make the writing appear black? Without using a Rowmark or IPI product?
The tags I think still need to be the colour of the watch.
I like the hook idea, I had done somethign similar with an evacuation board, but I feel with the name tags being quite small, and 16 of them, it might look too busy with all the hooks?

Carrol Fleming
06-29-2011, 3:39 AM
Hi Emma