PDA

View Full Version : My AAW goodie haul

Scott Hackler
06-27-2011, 9:55 PM
Ok, Ok.... I spent a bunch on stuff. I had a few things on my "get it" list and I bought everyone of them and a bunch that I hadn't planned on. :) The only thing I didn't get that I was really wanting was an articulated hollower or some kind of hollowing system. There were a couple unknowns on display, but missing was Monster and Kobra. :( I really wanted some "hands on" experience with both. Present was Carter's new roller system and I tried it out. Pretty nice set up but I haven't made up my mind as of yet.

I got a Burnmaster wood burner, Trent Boschs chuck holding setup for carving, a new 16" handle and small detail gouge from Doug, a bunch of sanding disc from Vince, 2 black ash burls from Cory, 3 blanks from Mike Smith, a neat little decorating tool called an Elf, 3 Red Mallee burl caps (no they weren't discounting them on Sunday :( ), a couple nice Cherry blanks from John Keaton, an over priced ($50) AAW smock, some Ren Wax, and a partridge in a pear tree.

Best idea of the show.... Keaton was wheeling his carry on suitcase around to fill it up! I did the same the next two days!! :)

OH MY!!!

Jeff Fagen
06-27-2011, 10:18 PM
Nice haul Scott,wish I'd have gotten one of those gouges.Did they embroider your name on?

David E Keller
06-27-2011, 10:20 PM
Now that's what I'm talking about! Of all the stuff you've got there, I'm most anxious to see how you like Trent's carving stand... I just got his DVDs the other day, and I really like the looks of that setup.

Oh, I almost forgot... You suck!:D

Kathy Marshall
06-27-2011, 10:40 PM
Nice haul there Scott!
Let us know how you like the Elf when you've had a chance to try it out. I watched a video on it on Craft Supplies site and have been considering getting one, would be nice to know if it works as easy as the video shows.

Baxter Smith
06-27-2011, 10:44 PM