PDA

View Full Version : Architectural Models - Followup

Larry Folk
06-26-2011, 9:43 PM
A few weeks ago I posted some photos of a residential model that I was working on. After 4 versions testing different construction methods I finished it up and took some photos.

This model is all 1/8" plywood and polyback sheets. I created all of the parts in SketchUp from my 2d cad drawings. I have developed ways to build these in a time frame that will hold my costs down and I will be able the price these far below the competition.
I sent out for bids from two modeling companies for this same house and they both quoted me $5,000 for what you see here. Builders cannot pay that in today's economy.

I am an architect and I have been in the residential design and construction industry for the past 40 years and models were always very expensive and rarely used. I plan to market these to the builders, that are still in business, as a way to capture sales from their competition.

Rodne Gold
06-27-2011, 2:47 AM
Very nice work , I wish you well in your new direction and think it can be a very good money spinner.. the model you made has a nice blend or realism and stylised stuff.
Where we made big bucks in terms of arch models was doing a total site for developers (multi buliding developments etc) and they sold units off the model. Don't think there are many of those around these days tho..

Frank Corker
06-27-2011, 5:28 AM
Fabulous work on the models. It's the same in the UK, not many big companies building large areas at the moment, but I think it will come back.

Adrian Hill
06-27-2011, 5:37 AM
Stunning, how do clad the surfaces to get the fininsh. I paint my dollhouses but the surfaces never look realistic.

Rod, I have a friend who makes architectural models for a living in Somerset West - he can't keep up with demand. The guy actually onlyhas one arm, he lost the other in a railway accident - He is a brilliant modeler nonetheless!

Doug Griffith
06-27-2011, 11:41 AM