PDA

View Full Version : Sample picture needed for Granite/Marble test

Bruce Dorworth
06-25-2011, 1:37 AM
I am a newbie. I have an 80 watt Chinese laser. I have it running and have been busy sticking everything I can get my hands on in there.

Well, there was a sample picture that came with the laser, so I engraved it on a piece of plywood. It looked Ok for something on a piece of plywood. So, I tried it on a piece of granite for Home Depot. First was carved to deep, second one was a little lite, third one was not very good either.

I then decided that I needed to start with a known good picture. I have a sample of granite and a sample of marble from laser sketch. These pieces are about 4"x6". If I didn't have to resize the picture that would take one of the variables out of the equation.

One last question, I also would appreciate a recommendation for the laser settings(for an 80 watt laser).

Thanks to all,
Bruce

Rodne Gold
06-25-2011, 2:33 AM
Where you need to be careful in terms of your chinese laser and pictures is in the backlash setttings for bidirectional firing , you will never get good resolution unless you tune this setting (same applys to all lasers firing bidirectionally). You need to ensure that alternate lines from either direction line up in respect to start and end point.
You will also most likely need to slow things down to get good precision when using low powers at high high speeds, the glass tubed lasers will have issues firing at the right place with low power at high speeds.
I would start off with around 200-300mm/s speeds and 30-50% power for marble or granite, try bidirectional processing and if that isnt resolute enough , try unidirectional. check what the default stepover distance is and adjust it , stepover is the distance the y axis moves in each scan pass , most of the lasers have a value of 0.1mm , which equates to 250 dpi , you can set this to 0.05mm for a 500dpi resolution , tho on stone , 250 should be more than adequate.