PDA

View Full Version : Old Growth Doug Fir is hard stuff

Tony Shea
06-20-2011, 11:48 AM
I am currently just building a little chisel rack to keep on my bench for the chisels I use during a project. Got the idea actually from a picture of on Blue Spruce Toolworks with their butt chisels sitting in a small rack. Thought it would be very handy as some of my chisels have nothing to stop them from rolling around, small japanese chisels.

Anyways, my point of the post is just to point out how dense some of this doug fir I have is. It is left over from a job I was on last year, toungue and groove interior siding. I grabbed as may left over tight grained peices as I could. Im an electrician therefore didn't actually work with the material. I had no idea how dense the latewood grain in the stuff is. Which in the peices I grabbed have more latewood than early, super tight grained old growth looking stuff. It is doing a number on my backsaws trying to crosscut it. I will post a pic when I get my camera. Kind of a pointless thread but just thought I'd share my experience with an often over looked beautiful wood.

Russell Sansom
06-20-2011, 2:34 PM
You are correct, Sir!
I've been restoring Victorian buildings in San Francisco which are built of Douglas Fir and Redwood. Sometimes it's very difficult even to drive a nail into an old-growth DF stud. As it has aged, it has become a bit brittle in places. The hard grain delaminates from the softer grain. But it isn't a huge problem, just that you have to be careful. Cross-cutting a board will blow out the back side pretty badly...to the degree that I take a prophylactic saw cut down the back side before proceeding.