PDA

View Full Version : My First Project!

Cherie Irwin
06-16-2011, 11:19 PM
So, I just finished my first project, other than just a trial run to make sure my machine worked when it arrived. As I mentioned in my introduction, I am a photographer. But, I failed to mention that I also own a photobooth rental company for weddings, parties and corporate events. I've had this idea to make little game spinners to give people ideas for poses in the photobooth. So, my first project on my laser was my game spinners.

I have a little design tweaking to do, as the small cursive text doesn't show up well inside of the relief sections. And, I just did these on a few pieces of 1/8 scrap birch plywood that was given to me. Just a question, what is the best way to minimize the discoloring on the "unlasered" areas? A mask? Lasering on sealed wood? Would something like this work well with a foil overlay? I like shiny things! After I perfect the design for this one, I will be moving on to chalkboard speech bubbles and wood mustache props for my photobooth prop boxes? Do you think a low or medium density fiberboard would work well for those, perhaps with a pretty veneer for my mustaches?

Mark Conde
06-16-2011, 11:31 PM
It looks great. I always like to engrave on wood that has been top coated (finished) It is much easier to remove the residue.

Dee Gallo
06-17-2011, 12:08 AM
Nice to have you "in" the Creek, Cherie! What a fun idea for your photobooths and you might consider making small giveaway versions with your contact info on the back so guests can get back to you when they throw their own parties. Perfect advertising opportunity!

Your spinners are a good idea, and you might think about some other ways to do the same thing for variety:
1. use cartoon faces to show folks what to do - great also for younger kids who don't read well or drunks who can't focus well...
2. use acrylic and color fill - they are washable and you can get that in shiny (mirror) colors!